Douglas Hyde Interpretive Centre
Dr. Hyde’s contribution to modern Ireland is highlighted in the exhibition by the use of informative charts, maps and photographs. Through audio-visual material you can capture the spirit of his dream and celebrate the achievements of one life dedicated to one vision.
Also on display is the original letter nominating him as first President of Ireland, signed by members of the two main political parties in Dáil Éireann – Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael – along with many other items of historical interest.
The grounds of the building have been tastefully landscaped and include Garden an Chraoibhín. The trees and shrubs in the Garden have been selected with reference to old Irish folklore, each plant illustrates part of an ancient Calendar Alphabet System.
Una Bhan Rural Tourism
Una Bhan is a Tourism One-Stop-Shop providing an Approved Accommodation Booking Service, Traditional Craft Shop, Tailored Holiday Packages,Information on all Attractions & Activities in Boyle, County Roscommon & surrounding areas.
The Irish National Famine Museum. Strokestown Park is a unique visitor attraction in Strokestown. Co Roscommon comprising of Strokestown Park House, a Georgian Palladian mansion preserved with its original furnishings and fabrics, which can be seen daily by guided tour. The House was the family home of the Packenham Mahon family and is built on the site of the 16th century castle, home of The O Conor Roe Gaelic Chieftains. The Landlord Major Denis Mahon was assassinated in November 1847 at the height of The Great Famine of Ireland and it is fitting that The Irish National Famine Museum was established at Strokestown Park in 1994 using the unique original documents that came to light during the restoration of The House.
The six acre walled pleasure gardens have been restored to their original splendour and give an insight into horticultural design and architecture from the 1740′s to the present day.
King House is a magnificently restored Georgian Mansion located in Boyle, County Roscommon. It was built in the early 1700′s for Sir Henry King, whose family were one of the most powerful and wealthy in Ireland.
After its first life as a home, King House was converted into a military barracks in the 19th century for the famous Connaught Rangers regiment. At the end of Civil War in 1923 the barracks passed into the control of the newly formed Irish Free State Army.
Following many years as a merchant’s store, King House was saved from demolition in the late 1980s and restored to its former Georgian style by Roscommon County Council.
Marvel at the grandeur, savour the magnificence of the period rooms, or just have fun exploring our interpretive exhibitions designed for both adults and children alike!
Writing with a quill and ink or building a brick vault are just some of the many things to do, and a tour of King House would not be complete without a visit to the cold and forbidding jail cells!